SleeveHearts

I wear my heart on my sleeve and so
I get hurt
More often than most
(Probably)
But it’s okay because I get to love a lot too.

The heart on my sleeve is adorned
With rips and tears; it’s scuffed and shorn.
But it has more character than most sleeves and most hearts
And this I know to be true (especially as the sleeve has been torn apart).

The character pulls people in
It’s like a wind tunnel:
Escapable, but most don’t want to
Because everybody loves to be loved.
It’s fun and free.
Laughing is lovely and hugging is harmony.

My heart is wide open
And sometimes it looks like a hole
And maybe it looks dark
Because it’s open so wide
And maybe it scares people away
But that’s okay
Because the day will come
When the doors will be seen wide open and welcoming
And one will look inside
And see a heart
So full and ready to love
It’s a happy thing.

Some people say you shouldn’t wear your heart on your sleeve because it leaves you vulnerable.
Some people say you shouldn’t wear your heart on your sleeve because it makes you naïve.
But vulnerable means you’re okay with trying and trying and trying again
And naïve shows you’re young inside, not stupid
It’s not wrong to trust and love
I’m not ashamed of the heart on my sleeve and I never will be
I wear my heart on my sleeve and so
Even though it is ripped and torn
I have a heart of pride
And a heart of love

– DandyLion

Leave a Reply

