Heartbreaker/Brokenhearted

I remember when
I was 6 and
I was in the supermarket and
I was helping my dad and
I was bagging groceries and
We were smiling and
We were laughing and
We were being silly and
The woman at the cash register
She told me
“You’re going to be a heartbreaker” and
Everyone around us agreed and
I blushed but
I didn’t get it.

I remember when I was 6 and
They told me I’d be a heartbreaker and
They told me I’d break hearts
I remember that.

They were right and
I did what they told me and
I broke a lot of hearts but:

They never told me what would happen to mine;
They never told me my heart would break too.

– DandyLion

A poem written a few days ago; inspired from a friend who brought up a really fun childhood memory of me and my dad that brought a very current (but currently ending) state of life round circle. Included is a photo of the original writing.

Leave a Reply

